What is the St. Lawrence River Restoration Council?

The St. Lawrence River Restoration Council (SLRRC) was formed in 1998 in order to oversee and address identified ecological challenges or Beneficial Use impairments (BUIs) that have been identified within the St. Lawrence River Area of Concern at Cornwall. Over the years, SLRRC membership has been made up of federal and provincial government agencies, the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, Raisin Region Conservation Authority (RRCA), the municipalities of Cornwall and South Glengarry, the River Institute and other local environmental groups, and industry. Designates and citizen members are elected to the Council annually at the Annual General Meeting.

Who are the current SLRRC members?

The 2020-2021 SLRRC members were elected at the Annual General Meeting held on July 16, 2020.

Chair: Marco Vincelli, Citizen

Vice-Chair: Elaine Kennedy, Citizen

Abraham Francis, Mohawk Council of Akwesasne Environment Program

Benoit Lebeau, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs

Chris Moran, Citizen

Dale Phippen, Citizen

Dorothy Hamilton, Stormont, Dundas, and Glengarry Chapter of the Ontario Woodlot Association

Emma Tahirali, Ontario Ministry of Environment, Conservation and Parks

Georgia Bock, RAP Coordinator

Idalia Milan, Eastern Ontario Health Unit

Jake LaRose, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry

Jeff Ridal, River Institute

Jessica Jock, St. Regis Mohawk Tribe

Joe Arthur, Cornwall Lunker Club

Joff Cote, Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry

John Towndrow, Transition Cornwall+

Keith Leclaire, Mohawk Council of Akwesasne Department of Health

Mark Kaddie, Citizen

Michael Fawthrop, City of Cornwall

Nick Cox, Citizen

Patricia O’Hara, Great River Network

Richard Pilon, Raisin Region Conservation Authority

Sara Varty, Environment and Climate Change Canada

Stephanie Jaworski, Township of South Glengarry

William Robertson, Citizen

Wilson Smirle, ALUS Canada

Vacancies: Ontario Power Generation, Cooper Marsh Conservators*, Seaway Valley Divers*, South Lancaster Fish and Game Club*

*New positions in 2020 pending appointment